Managing users in the business group | VIA Pro

  • Updated

Applies to: Business Group Coordinators

This article explains how business group coordinators can add, update, and remove users in VIA Pro.

Video - Managing users

A business group coordinator can view and manage user type details within a business group. Watch this video tutorial to learn how. Refer to the outlined steps below for more information. 

Icons_Approved.svgUsers grid

Each row shows one user. The columns are:

  • Email - shows the user's email address
  • First Name - shows the user's first name
  • Last Name - shows the user's last name
  • User Type - shows the user's type in the business group
  • Workspaces - shows the number of workspaces the user can access in the business group
  • Total Accesses - shows all visits ever made by the user to workspaces or folders in the business group. Includes historical accesses, even if the workspace/folder was later deleted
  • Accesses Last 90 days - shows visits made by the user to workspaces or folders in the last 90 days.Includes historical accesses, even if the workspace/folder was later deleted
  • Last Access - shows the date and time of their most recent access
  • Added On - shows the date they were added to the business group
  • Actions - shows the Remove and Edit User Type options

Note: Clicking a user's email opens the right-side panel. You can view user and access details, edit the user type, or remove the user.

Icons_Approved.svgHow to add users

Business Group Coordinators can add provisioned users and business group coordinators directly.

  1. Click Administration on the left side of the screen.
  2. In the Users tab, click Add Users.
  3. Select a user type:
    • Provisioned User
    • Business Group Coordinator
  4. (Optional) If you selected user type as Business Group Coordinator, select the checkbox Provision to this business group if required.
  5. Enter one or more email addresses using spaces or commas to separate them.
  6. Click Add.

After adding users, a summary message appears showing whether each user was added successfully or could not be added. Users are not added if they already belong to another business group or do not meet provisioning requirements.

Note: Invited users appear in a business group only through workspace access. When an invited user no longer has access to any workspace in the business group, they are removed automatically.

Icons_Approved.svgHow to search for a user

  1. Click Administration on the left side of the screen.
  2. In the Users tab, type the name or email address in the search field. The list updates automatically.

Icons_Approved.svgHow to edit a user

  1. Click Administration on the left side of the screen.
  2. In the Users tab, click the Edit User Type icon in the Actions column.
  3. Update the user type.
  4. Click Save.

Icons_Approved.svgHow to remove users

  1. Click Administration on the left side of the screen.
  2. In the Users tab,
    1. To remove one user, click the Remove icon in the Actions column.
    2. To remove multiple users, select the checkbox in the Email column, and then click Remove.
  3. Review the message.
  4. Click Remove to confirm.

Note: Removing users is permanent and cannot be undone.

  • The removed business group coordinators lose access to the Administration area and all workspaces in the business group. 
  • Any other removed users lose access to the workspace in the business group.
  • If the user you are trying to remove owns one or more workspaces, assign another owner or delete workspaces before removing the user.

Icons_Approved.svgHow to export user data

  1. Click Administration on the left side of the screen.
  2. In the Users tab, click Export.
  3. Provide the Export Name.
  4. Select the export format as CSV or Excel.

You can download the file from the Exports tab in the Administration area. The export includes the filters applied in the Users grid.

Icons_Approved.svg Troubleshooting

If you see - User is already provisioned in another business group

What it means - The email address already belongs to a different business group. That user cannot be added to this business group.

Was this article helpful?