User types and roles | VIA Pro

  • Updated

Applies to : Everyone

This article helps you identify your user type and know what actions are available to you in a VIA Pro business group.

Each user is assigned a user type and one or more workspace roles. Your user type and workspace role determine what you can do in your business group.

User types

A user type gives you a level of access across a business group in VIA Pro. Your Business Group Coordinator assigns your user type.

  • Provisioned User - Added by a Business Group Coordinator. They can belong to only one business group. They can create new workspaces within their group and thus are workspace owner by default. They can be invited to other people's workspaces.
  • Invited User - Invited to existing workspaces but cannot create new ones. They can still hold any workspace role (Owner, Editor, Viewer). If an invited user loses access to all workspaces in a business group, they no longer appear in that business group.
  • Business Group Coordinator - Manages users, workspaces, and policies in the business group.  They can add, edit, or remove users, and export data. They can create workspaces only if they also have provisioned user permissions.

Note: A user can be a provisioned user in one business group and invited to workspaces in another business group.

Workspace roles

A workspace role gives you a level of access inside one workspace.

  • Owner - Full control of the workspace including settings and user management
  • Editor - Can add, edit, and delete their own files but cannot manage users and permissions
  • Viewer - Read-only access to content, that is, can view and download files but cannot change files
  • Invisible Viewer - Read-only access to content, that is, can view and download files but cannot change files. These users do not appear in the workspace member list. 

    Note: Only workspace owners can see invisible viewers. 

Was this article helpful?