Adding contacts | Fundraising

  • Updated

Applies to: Fund managers (GPs)
 

In the Fundraising application, there is a difference between contacts and users. Contacts can be considered to be like business cards and only require an email address to be added. Contacts can be one of the many representatives of a prospective investor or service providers to whom you send marketing materials. A contact becomes a user when you invite them to the Fundraising portal and permission them to a fund, campaign or investment.

Icons_Approved.svg How to add contacts

Adding a single contact

  1. From the Entity menu, select Contacts.
  2. Click Add Contact.
  3. In the Email Address field, enter the contact's email address.
  4. (Optional.) Add additional information about the contact.
  5. Click Save.

Adding contacts in bulk

You can add multiple investors at one time using an Excel spreadsheet. A template is provided that you can download, update, then upload.

    1. From the Profile menu, select Bulk Actions.
    2. Click Bulk Upload.
    3. In the Upload Name field, enter a name for the upload.
    4. In the Upload Type field, select Contacts.
    5. If you have not already done so, download and complete the template.
      • Click Download Template.
      • Open the template and add your investor information. Required fields are indicated by an asterisk. Click the Template Format tab for details about completing the template.
      • Save the changes.
    6. Click Select File to Upload.
    7. Navigate to the file and click Open.
    8. Click Upload. You can view the status of a bulk upload on the Bulk Actions page.
    9. A status page is displayed. The following options are available:
      • Download Error File - This option is available if errors were found in the upload.
      • Download Original File - Lets you download the file that was uploaded.
      • Rollback - Rolls back the upload. Click Confirm to continue.

Adding contacts from InvestorVision

  1. From the Profile menu, select Bulk Actions.
  2. Click Bulk Upload.
  3. Click Sync from IV.
  4. In the Sync Name field, enter a name for the Sync.
  5. In the Sync Type field, select Contacts.
  6. Click IV Sync.
  7. A status page is displayed. The following options are available:
    • Download Error File - This option is available if errors were found in the upload.
    • Download Original File - Lets you download the file that was uploaded.
    • Rollback - Rolls back the upload. Click Confirm to continue.

Viewing and updating contact details

  1. From the Entity menu, select Contacts.
  2. Click the contact.
  3. The following tabs are available:
    • Details - Displays the contact's information. You can make any changes and click Save.
    • Permissions - Lists the contact's permissions. You can add additional permissions. For more information, see Permissioning users.
    • Investors - Lists the investors associated with the contact.
    • Documents - Lists the documents to which the contact has access. Click a document to preview it.
    • Notes - Lists the notes associated with the contact.
    • Notifications - Lists the notifications that have been sent to the contact.
    • Activity Log - Lists the activities associated with the contact. You can view LP or Admin activity.

Icons_Approved.svg How to disable and delete contacts

Disabling a contact

When you disable a contact, they will not be able to access the portal. 

  1. From the Entity menu, select Contacts.
  2. Click the contact that you want to disable.
  3. From the three dots menu click Disable User
  4. Click Confirm.

Deleting a contact

  1. From the Entity menu, select Contacts.
  2. Click the contact that you want to delete.
  3. From the three dots menu, select Delete.
  4. Click Confirm.

Additional information

Was this article helpful?