Product: VIA Pro for the Web
Applies to: Administrators
You can configure all files associated with Intralinks VIA Pro be removed when the Intralinks VIA Pro Desktop Client is uninstalled. This includes Workspace files that have been synced to an individual’s desktop, as well as settings files used by Intralinks VIA Pro. If you do not configure this option, the files will remain on computer desktops, but they will no longer be synced.
You can set a policy to automatically remove files and settings information from members’ computers unless they log into the Intralinks VIA Pro Desktop Client within a specified number of days. If a member does not log in within the policy's time period, all files and Intralinks VIA Pro settings files will be removed from the local Intralinks VIA Pro folder. Synced files on other devices will not be affected.
If a member logs into the Desktop Client after files have been removed from their computer, the files will be synced to their computer again.
You also can set a policy that allows Workspace participants to view protected Microsoft Office 2013 and 2016 files that have been synced to their Intralinks VIA Windows desktop client even when their computers do not have a network or Internet connection. Synced files are available for a limited amount of time (a “lease period”)—up to 48 hours—as specified by the policy. During the lease period, no authentication will be required for protected files.
When enabled, this policy lets people continue working with protected files while traveling, while in a location where an active network or Internet connection is not available, or where connecting to a mobile network would result in roaming charges.
The policy applies to all Workspaces associated with the business group for which the policy is set. The ability to access files during their respective lease periods will be available to all Workspace participants, including those who belong to other business groups that you do not manage.
This policy does not apply to protected PDF files. It also does not apply to Workspaces that require two-step verification. Synced files that are not IRM protected are not affected by this policy.
If this policy is not enabled, participants will be required to have a network connection to open protected files.
I want to
- Automatically remove files when VIA Pro Desktop Client is uninstalled
- Automatically remove synced files and settings information if members do not log in within a specified number of days
- Allow participants to view protected Office files when they do not have a network or internet connection
- Click the key icon that appears in the navigation bar on the left side of the screen. A navigation panel slides out.
- Click on the Policies option.
- To remove files when the VIA Desktop Client is uninstalled, mark the Erase all local content in Intralinks VIA folder if the client is uninstalled option.
- To automatically remove synced files and settings information from members’ computers unless they log into the Intralinks VIA Desktop Client regularly, mark the Erase all local content in Intralinks VIA folder if the user doesn’t log in from desktop in days option and enter the number of days after which content will be removed.
- To enable participants to view protected Office files when their computers do not have a network or internet connection, mark the Enable access to digitally protected files when a network connection is not available option, then enter an access period—up to 48 hours.
- Click Save.
Time: 2 minutes